The Help

An amazing book that I couldn’t let go out of my hands. I didn’t actually buy it myself. My sister watched the movie and decided that she should read the book. It was out there in its yellow cover calling me “read me read me” so I did! All I can tell you is that I wish it never ended. Perfectly written, simple and direct. The idea is genuine and very inspiring.

The story is about a white young lady living in a town called Jackson in the Mississippi. She was different from all her peers and paid no attention to all their interests in fashion, hairstyles, and men. She was looking for independence unlike other women in that time and she loved writing. She was raised by a Help “the name they used to call the black ladies who worked that time in cleaning houses” and she loved her very much. This woman was able later to convince the black women in her area to change their situation through writing a book about their bad and good experiences while working for white families.

I don’t want to write more so I don’t spoil it for you. But I rate it 10/10 and highly recommend it for you. I`m planning to watch the movie soon but I doubt it’s better than the book. If you read it tell me what do you think about it. It’s really one of the most amazing books I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

