To change or to run away? That’s the question

I really miss reading. It’s been like forever since I’ve read a heavy book. I have recently (couple of months ago) started reading Orientalism by Edward Said, but I haven’t been able to get through the introduction yet. Not because it is hard, but some books, especially this one, need to be studied carefully. And to be honest, I don’t have the time. Although I love literature and Orientalism in English literature, but it seems so hard to find the time to sit and focus. However, since then, I read 4 Arabic books, from novels to poetry which I will be writing about soon. I haven’t read Arabic books for a long time, but I like the fact that they take less time to be done. I think I will be reading more Arabic books in the upcoming weeks, they reflect a different feeling inside of me, something familiar, which takes me deep inside, not far away.  So, at the end of this long day, and the beginning of a new day, I would say that; you shouldn’t just read to take yourself away from reality, read to remind yourself your reality. This will make you see it clearer and from a different perspective, hence change it. Witty enough?

Leave a Reply

