Which one first?

Which do you prefer best? To read the book then watch the movie, or to watch the movie then read the book? Or maybe you don’t follow the same pattern every time and start with whatever that comes first? Well, I’ve tried it both ways, but I certainly prefer to read the book first. To some people this may not make a difference at all, but to me, it determines how much I enjoy and love both. Throughout the ages, books have succeeded to provide people with a certain quality that new technology, no matter how advanced it is, lacks. It is the ability to let go of your imagination and give your mind the freedom to draw pictures of the characters of a book with no limits or boundaries similar to those in a movie orT.V show, for in those the imagination part is already done for you and all you have to do is watch and enjoy. And so don’t you think it would be better to give your mind the privilege of an unrestricted imagination first and then watch the movie and see for yourself whether the director has done the right choice that matches your expectations or not? To me this is extremely interesting, especially when I start comparing the movie to the book while watching. It takes me back to an old experience I’ve once lived and reminds me of the fellow characters whom I’ve gladly enjoyed their company and private matters. Now the reason why I started this topic in the first place, and I guess you can tell now how excited I am about this, is that a new version of the movie “Anna Karenina” , which is adapted from Leo Tolstoy’s amazing novel, is filming right now with a long list of actors among which you can read the highly regarded names “Keira Knightley” and “Jude Law”. The movie is to be released in 2012, I know it’s a bit far away, but that gives you the time to do it my way and read the book first if you haven’t read it already. I highly recommend it for a mixture of love, passion, human relations, society, and even religion and faith all in one beautiful experience. Let’s hope then that the movie is as good as the novel!

Leave a Reply

